HPC matters ::: Knowledge- & Technologytransfer
DE | EN

MyThOS
Operating System for Massively Threaded applications

Overview
Description
The MyThOS project targets at reducing the overhead of the operating system in HPC applications, in order to increase the degree of parallelism and thereby performance. Communication overhead for example is just one constraint – thread instantiation and management, memory management, locking of OS resources etc. are further factors, that are determined by the OS and thereby typically overlooked, because they only recently became obviously relevant with the rise of multicore processors.

Within the MyThOS project the partners are addressing exactly that point: based on real HPC application scenarios a new operating system is being developed, which will reduce the OS factors that affect scalability to a minimum. Traditional operating systems are designed for the “general case” and offer a vast functional palette including user management, security and several I/O-mechanisms. Those functionalities are mostly irrelevant for HPC applications but have an impact on runtime complexity of particular tasks. As opposed to that, within MyThOS each required functionality is implemented in a minimal and modular fashion which allows free-configurable deployment, execution, management and adaptation. Traditional operating systems also strive to establish a higher interactivity and uniform resource distribution between several applications. The requirements of highly-parallel applications are therefor only partially addressed.

MyThOS results in a new distributed OS micro-kernel which is designed and built up from scratch. Fundamental functionalities like thread management, dynamic memory management or communication routines are modularized, optimized for HPC and designed for distributed environments. Through the modular architecture of the kernel new configuration decisions are possible, which can be fine-tuned to fit the specific needs of a concrete application scenario and infrastructure. Special attention is paid to the reduction of thread creation and management costs. Regarding the new lightweight kernel this promises to allow for a far higher parallelization compared to currently established systems.

Reference application scenarios addressed in MyThOS originate from the areas of molecular simulations, computational fluid dynamics and multimedia.
Contact

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Wesner (stefan.wesner@uni-ulm.de)

Administrative contact

Albert-Einstein-Allee 11
89081 Ulm
Germany

HPC rechnet sich ::: Wissens- & Technologietransfer

MyThOS
Operating System for Massively Threaded applications

Überblick
Beschreibung
Das Projekt MyThOS zielt auf die Reduzierung des durch das Betriebssystem implizierten Overheads innerhalb HPC-Szenarien ab, um das Parallelisierungsmaß und somit die Performanz von HPC-Anwendungen zu erhöhen. Kommunikationsoverhead ist dabei nur ein restriktiver Faktor – Thread-Instanziierung und -Management, Speicherverwaltung, Locking von Betriebssystemressourcen etc. sind durch das Betriebssystem bestimmte Faktoren, die typischerweise übersehen werden, weil sie erst mit der Einführung von Mehrkernprozessoren wirklich zum Tragen kommen.

In dem MyThOS Projekt adressieren die Kollaborationspartner genau dies: auf der Basis tatsächlicher HPC Anwendungsszenarien wird ein Betriebssystem geschaffen, welches diese Faktoren, die einer weiteren Performanzsteigerung im Weg stehen, auf ein Minimum reduziert. So sind traditionelle Systeme z.B. für den „generellen Fall“ ausgelegt und bieten mit User-Management, Sicherheit und vielzähligen Ein/Ausgabe-Mechanismen einen für die meisten HPC-Anwendungen irrelevanten Funktionsumfang, welcher die Laufzeitkomplexität einzelner Aufgaben unnötig erhöht. In MyThOS wird dagegen für jede Aktivität nur der minimal-notwendige Funktionsumfang bereitgestellt und verwaltet. Darüber hinaus sind traditionelle Betriebssysteme bestrebt eine höhere Nutzer-Interaktivität und gleichmäßige Ressourcenverteilung zwischen mehreren Anwendungen zu etablieren. Damit werden jedoch die Anforderungen hoch-paralleler Anwendungen, welche nicht auf Ressourcen-Sharing ausgelegt sind, nur begrenzt abgedeckt.

MyThOS mündet in einem von Grund auf neu designten verteilten Betriebssystem-(Micro)Kernel, in dem grundlegende Funktionalitäten wie Thread-Verwaltung, dynamisches Speichermanagement oder Kommunikationsroutinen aus ihrem monolithischen Gefüge entkoppelt sind und selbst parallelisiert und verteilt werden können. Durch den modularen Aufbau des MyThOS Kernels werden Konfigurationsentscheidungen möglich, die konkret auf das Anwendungsszenario und die Infrastruktur abgestimmt sind. Ein spezieller Fokus besteht dabei in dem reduzierten Overhead für Thread-Erzeugung und -Verwaltung, welcher durch den leichtgewichtigen Kernel ein weitaus höheres Parallelisierungsmaß gegenüber gängigen Systemen verspricht.

Die zur Evaluation verwendeten Anwendungsszenarien stammen aus den Bereichen Molekularsimulation, CFD und Multimedia und werden von den einzelnen Projektpartnern bereitgestellt.
Kontakt / Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Wesner (stefan.wesner@uni-ulm.de)

Organisatorischer Kontakt

Albert-Einstein-Allee 11
89081 Ulm
Germany